So I didn’t drop off the face of the Earth…

I was busy throwing up.

Yeah. You read that right.

As of yesterday, I am 13 weeks pregnant. Thank you, thank you. So this will make the minion tally a nice, edgy ‘5’. Fashionably off-balance, I believe it will be the perfect number of children for this family. Thankyouverymuch. Oh, and yes. We were trying.

A question that is innocent enough, yet I bristle at. “We you trying?” Nah.. We just washed our underwear together and whoopsie! I especially love the “You do know what causes that, don’t you?” I have concluded the most appropriate answer is “Yep. And we’re AWESOME at it.”

So whilst taking a wee and nauseated hiatus from the blog, I also took a wee and nauseating hiatus from attempting to look decent. At all. Seriously. As I deal with some of the major crimes against all fashion and presentability that I may have committed, I will share them. Right now, I’m recovering emotionally. Let’s just say at one point, I may have worn a long plain brown skirt with a ski jacket and a pair of Dansko clogs to Meijer. With wet hair. And screaming white athletic socks. I was pretty sure if I didn’t stay a little alert, a conservative Morman family might accidentally load me into their van along with all the other denim skirt athletic socks offenders. Had my four kids been with me at the time, it seriously would have been feasible.

I tried to get in the blog mood. I tried to look for some cute trendy stuff to share with you girls. I really did. But oh, I was sooooo miserable. Before you ask, the answer is yes. They do have meds that help. Namely Zofran. It was a miracle cure for about 24 hours, but like all truths in life; if it seems too good to be true, it probably is. Let’s just say Zofran not only stops vomiting, but all kinds of food evacuations. Whether in preventing vomiting, or preventing your daily zen poop. Ladies, we all need our daily zen poop. If you’re not experiencing a daily zen poop, then you aren’t getting enough liquids. Or coffee.

Which brings me to another excuse for not blogging since January. I developed an aversion to coffee. And soda. And tea. Basically I developed an aversion to the will to live. I’ve found some solace in lemonade and chocolate milk, and in desperate times even ice water. Needless to say, it’s been rough. I’m here now though, and actively seeking out cool things to blog about. First, foremost, and totally selfishly, I intend to seek out the fashionable way to sport your baby bump, without going cliché. By that I mean, nautical themed maternity bathing suits are OUT! OUT I SAY!

I also have some sweet friends that make some really great jewelry found on Etsy. Oh Etsy, the way you purr my name. How I love thee. Say it with me… ETSY… If you haven’t dabbled there, go now. Go on. When you get back, I’ll have come up with some fab pictures and links and wit and all things blogworthy.

On the opening page, you see a random highlight of fabulous offerings from fabulous vendors. But there is so, so much more. Just look to the left for a list of categories, and don’t be afraid of just searching for randomness. You can find just about anything. Go, play. Thank me later.

Here are some of my favorite Etsy shops. Just a sampling, but you might find something you love.

Clean Mama Printables
I purchased a huge package. Heck no, I haven’t put it to good use. I blame my delay in putting them to good use on the fact that I don’t have a color printer currently. I must have color to print the pretty lists. It’s that simple.

Anya Selina jewelry
A local mama who makes beautiful jewelry by hand. I love it because it’s simple, pretty, and not overwhelming. Just lovely.

Garlands of Grace
Lovely headbands, wraps, and headcoverings. I love, and have done some research on headcoverings for religious purposes. I think it’s completely beautiful.

That will be all for now. I’m going to be off scouring the interwebz for some inspiration. In the meantime, if you have found something you love on Etsy, please be sure to add the link in the comments section. Cool stuff is meant to be shared, and I’m all about spending money within the cottage industry. Support local, and support handmade. Look hawt doing it. Easy as pie.


I need pie. Now.

One thought on “So I didn’t drop off the face of the Earth…

Leave a Reply

