The Big Post (hang in there til then end, mmmkay?)

This entire weekend, the hubbins was around. He was feeling less-than-stellar. As I had committed to staying off the computer when he’s around, an insightful blog post was put on hiatus. Now, had I been truly thoughtful, I would have just started writing something down on paper. Alas, I knitted instead. I thought about blogging. I really did. I intend to post on topics such as supporting WAHMs (work at home moms), budgeting, investment pieces (as in that pricey purse, not as in real investing folks), feeling beautiful inside and out. I have some DIYs I want to work on and share with you. The truth is, I’ve been pretty distracted. This is nothing new. So let me talk a bit about me.

I have four kids, 10 and under. I hope to have more. I am not a supreme housekeeper, cook, or organizer. I wish I had more patience, and I wish I had more ‘stick-to-itive-ness’.  I love Jesus. I want to love Him more. I want to be receptive to God’s voice, and do what He asks me to do.  Now, seeing as I haven’t yet heard a particularly clear “Kim, I would like you to INSERT COMMAND HERE…” I have to go with what I know might please Him.

What on earth does this have to do with your sexy mommy style blog Kim?

Not much. But kind of everything.

This silly blog. I originally was going to try to keep my faith a bit muted, so as not to offend anyone that might read, but not agree. Nope. That won’t work. I want you to know why I think this is important, relevant, and what it’s about. I’m reaching out to women, and I want them to hear me. So listen up girly.

If you read every once in awhile, my hope is that you take something away that helps you feel more beautiful.. whether it’s some cute way to style your bangs, some neat product that will tame your tendrils, or just a boost of  ‘go get-em’.

With every post I make, I want you to know that God loves you. That you are beautiful, and that He knows the number of hairs on your pretty head. I’m totally serious.

Luke 12:7.
6 “What is the price of five sparrows—two copper coins? Yet God does not forget a single one of them. 7 And the very hairs on your head are all numbered. So don’t be afraid; you are more valuable to God than a whole flock of sparrows.

Now why on earth is that important to Him?

Because you ARE His.

Let me tell you, I am feeling pretty dumpy this morning. Jammy pants, icky hair, yucky face. I just feel bleh. But as I write this, I know I’m going to get up, clean up, and fluff up a little. When I read Luke 12:6 and 12:7, I am reminded that God knows me inside and out. That he knows when I feel greasy and gross, and he knows when I’ve tried to fluff up a bit. And honestly, I want to make Him smile. I want to take care of myself, because I know I’m loved.

Imagine a little girl, maybe 4 or 5. She dives into a pile of dress ups, and does her absolute best to put together an ensemble worthy of only the classiest pretend-wedding. She might put some blush on her cheeks and paint her nails. Her hair might be in random pig tails that she struggled and winced to get into her hair. She might be clomping around in shoes that are only 11 sizes too big. But she has tried so hard. And why? So that you will admire her.

And don’t you? Don’t you smile at her and adore her? Not because she looks super chic! But because she is precious. Absolutely precious. And wouldn’t you rather see her dress up and enjoy, and even feel good about herself? As opposed to being self-doubting, self conscious, depressed.. Imagine your own daughter, who you gave birth to with your body, or your heart. Imagine her feeling terrible about herself. Feeling inadequate.. Doesn’t it break your heart?

I am no bible guru. I have so much to learn before I could even attempt to teach.. but I KNOW this..

God’s heart breaks for you. Christ’s heart broke for you.

Whether you are a believer now or not.. Whether you were once upon a time, and then got lost. He’s always been there, on the front porch of your heart. Excitedly expecting you to open the door to Him. And you know what? You look perfect.

1 Peter 3:3-4
3 Don’t be concerned about the outward beauty of fancy hairstyles, expensive jewelry, or beautiful clothes. 4 You should clothe yourselves instead with the beauty that comes from within, the unfading beauty of a gentle and quiet spirit, which is so precious to God.

There’s nothing wrong with wanting to look and feel beautiful. I think there’s everything right with it, as a matter of fact. But I just want you to remember that the phrase “it’s what’s on the inside that counts” isn’t only cliche. It’s just plain ol’ truth. The boost we get from a pretty purse, or a good hair day is only going to be temporary. Let’s remember that, okay? Let’s remember to work on the inside with the outside.

And now, back to our regularly scheduled cool stuff..POLYVORE.

An uber cool website that let’s you virtually shop for outfits and accessories. Set up an account, watch the tutorial, and start playing dress-up online. I stumbled upon it when cruising Pinterest. I’d see these awesome images, and just followed the links. Here are a few of my favorites lately:

Yellow and grey

Just click on the image to visit Polyvore. Do this when kids are napping, or it’s bedtime. You will be spending some time here… Enjoy!

3 thoughts on “The Big Post (hang in there til then end, mmmkay?)

Leave a Reply

