Behind the Chair

I am a hairdresser. I have been for 13 years. The beauty of my job (aside the obvious trying to create or assist it) is the flexibility. I work in a salon two full days a week, and some Saturdays. As a mother of four smallish people, flexibility is vital. I find some significant irony in my life at the moment though. Allow me to elaborate.

My bread and butter is the beauty industry. Women. Style. Product. Metro-sexual males. When someone walks into my salon (okay, my sweet friend’s salon, where I rent a chair.. but it’s like a second home to me), they expect to leave completely changed. They might flip through a hairstyle magazine, but more often will find their inspiration after pouring through an Us Weekly. Some celebrity photo, though intended to look unflattering. You know the picture. Even on some of their most average days, when out shopping, or going to a movie (not a premiere, just a movie), riding their bikes, whatever.. they can set the tone for how a woman here in West Michigan thinks she should look. Jennifer Aniston going shorter or (if humanly possible) straighter. Zoey Deschanel’s amazing bangs. Whether my client is 17 or 70, I know what she wants, because I want it too. They want a look that makes them feel beautiful, attractive, sexy, relevant.

The great irony (alluded to in my first paragraph) is this: it takes work. That carefree beautiful look and natural sense of style, well.. it comes naturally to very few of us. So what do we do about it? Wallow in our own average appearance and existence? Resort to a biased bob with minimal styling required for maintenance? Hide in our comfy clothes and Ugg-like replicas?

NO! We resist dangit.

See those sexy toes up top there? Those are my friend Jeni’s toes. Let me tell you a little about Jeni. She’s a graphic designer, a triathete, a fitness guru, an artist, and a total mom. She’s completely awesome and a great friend. In a way, she’s a lot like you. And me. And Jennifer Anniston. Why? Because she’s a woman. Complete with a vagina and a monthly cycle. She gets bitchy and crampy and frustrated. There’s stuff she has tried and failed at, and she hasn’t met all her goals yet. She wants more. To do more, to achieve more. We ALL do. But here’s what I love about Jeni.

In the last 5 months she has participated in a triathlon, jumped out of an airplane, ran a half marathon and learned how to juggle (balls. legit juggling yo).

She’s doing it. I mean, look at those feet. Maybe I have a total fetish, but that picture is hot. Shiny red heels in a public restroom. When is the last time YOU put on some shiny red heels? You might say you’ve not happened upon the occasion to yet. Well let me assure you, putting on sexy shoes MAKES the occasion. True story.

What’s my point? It’s this.. You want to be pretty? You want to feel sexy? Want to break away from the mom image and hair cut? Then do it. Now. Today. I’ll do it with you. We’re going to go out, and find a style we love. Then we’re going to rock it. We’re going to rock it hard. And one day we’re going to realize that when we’re out and about, people look twice at us. But we won’t care, because we already know we look great.

Stay tuned.

2 thoughts on “Behind the Chair

  1. Kristy says:

    Those sexy ass shoes & feet belong to my cousin & I couldn’t agree with you more. Anybody lucky enough to have her in their life is……..well, lucky enough. Now I’m gonna go get a haircut & jump outta plane yo.

Leave a Reply

